Pitching Magazine Editors on Twitter, Plus 80+ Editors on Twitter

Over the past couple of months, I’ve made a point of friending the editors of publications I’d like to write for on Twitter. I’ve landed several assignments through Twitter, including a few where the editor sought me out, rather than the other way around. That’s because Twitter is an ideal tool for building connections: when an editor sees your updates day in and day out, she’ll start to feel like she knows you to some extent. You can help that feeling grow by replying to tweets and generally holding conversations.

Then, when you’ve got a good idea to pitch to a magazine, you’ve got a way to run it by the editor first. More often than not, an editor who you contact on Twitter will still ask you to put in a formal query letter, but she’ll keep an eye out for whatever you submit. You still have to win over the editor’s approval for your story, but at least you aren’t querying out of the blue.

To that end, I suggest following the editors you want to work with on Twitter. Furthermore, make a list of the editors you follow through Twitter’s functionality. That way, you can pick them out of the other folks you follow without too much trouble. I’m not suggesting that you should make a special effort to ingratiate yourself with these editors, but just as you might spend a few extra minutes with an editor at a networking event, it’s not unethical to work on learning more about an editor so that you can more appropriately pitch topics.

To get you started, here are the Twitter handles of more than 80 editors on Twitter.

  1. Valerie Latona — SHAPE Magazine — @VlatonaSHAPE
  2. Kate M. White — Cosmopolitan — @katemwhite
  3. Cindi Leive — Glamour — @cindi_leive
  4. Lucy Danziger — Self — @LucyDanziger
  5. Carin Barnes — Delicious Mag — @CarinBarnes
  6. Peggy Northrop — Readers Digest — @pnorth
  7. Lance Ulanoff — PC Magazine — @lanceulanoff
  8. Chris Anderson — Wired Magazine — @chr1sa
  9. Ted Johnson — Variety — @tedstew
  10. Vitaly Friedman — Smashing Magazine — @smashingmag
  11. Jennifer Preston — New York Times Magazine — @NYT_JenPreston
  12. Phil Torrone — Make Magazine — @torrone
  13. Dan Costa — PC Magazine — @Dancosta
  14. Max Chafkin — Inc Magazine — @chafkin
  15. Jemima Kiss — The Guardian — @jemimakiss
  16. Bobbie Johnson — The Guardian — @bobbiejohnson Bobbie wrote in to inform us that he’s no longer with the Guardian.
  17. Dan Oliver — .Net Magazine — @danoliver
  18. Nat Ives — AdAge — @natives
  19. Michael Learnmonth — AdAge — @learmonth
  20. Abbey Klaassen — AdAge — @amklaassen
  21. Charles Arthur — The Guardian — @charlesarthur
  22. Scot Finney — Computer World — @scotfinnie
  23. Seth Porges — PC World — @sethporges
  24. JR Rafael — PC World — @jr_raphael
  25. Adam Aston — Business Week — @adamnyc
  26. Amy Feldman — Business Week — @amyfeldman
  27. Ana Marie Cox — Time — @anamariecox
  28. Ari Berman — The Nation — @ariberman
  29. Arik Hasseldahl — Business Week — @ahess247
  30. Ben Levisohn — Business Week — @ben_levisohn
  31. Burt Helm — Business Week — @burthelm
  32. Josh Jackson — Paste — @joshjackson
  33. Steve LaBate — Paste — @stevelabate
  34. Kate Keifer — Paste — @katekiefer
  35. Rachel Maddux — Paste — @rachaelmaddux
  36. Jay Sweet — Paste — @ajsfour
  37. Sascha Segan — PC Magazine — @saschasegan
  38. Richard Strohmeyer — PC World — @rstrohmeyer
  39. Alex Wolfe — Information Week — @awolfe58
  40. Mark Frauenfelder — Make Magazine — @frauenfelder
  41. Ayren J. Cannady — Fitness Magazine — @FITNESSayren
  42. Bethany Gumper — Fitness Magazine — @FITNESSbethany
  43. Caroline Hwang — Fitness Magazine — @FITNESScaroline
  44. Kristen Dierich — Fitness Magazine — @FITNESSkristen
  45. Lindsey Emery — Fitness Magazine — @FITNESSlindsey
  46. Marianne Magno — Fitness Magazine — @FITNESSmarianne
  47. Wendy Rodewalk — Fitness Magazine — @FITNESSwendy
  48. Jen Sinkler — Experience Life Magazine — @jensinkler
  49. Jen Ator — Women’s Health Magazine — @jen_ator
  50. Howard Chua-Eoan — Time — @hchuaeoan
  51. Gilbert Cruz — Time — @GilbertCruz
  52. Steve Wildstrom — Business Week — @swildstrom
  53. Steve Hamm — Business Week — @stevehamm31
  54. Steve Baker — Business Week — @stevebaker
  55. Spencer Ante — Business Week — @spencerante
  56. Shirley Brady — Business Week — @shirleybrady
  57. Sarah Lacey — Business Week — @sarahcuda
  58. Roben Farzad — Business Week — @robenfarzad
  59. Reena Jana — Business Week — @rjmac
  60. Rachel King — Business Week — @sfwriter
  61. Phil Mintz — Business Week — @pmintz
  62. Peter Coy — Business Week — @petercoy
  63. Peter Carbonara — Business Week — @petercarbonara
  64. Nancy Shute — US News and World Reports — @nancyshute
  65. Matt Vella — Business Week — @mattvella
  66. Marty M. Fawnche — Electronic Retailer Magazine — @fawnkey
  67. Marc Ambinder — The Atlantic — @marcambinder
  68. Louis LaVelle — Business Week — @louislavelle
  69. Lauren Young — Business Week — @laurenyoung
  70. Kevin Allen — Financial Times — @kevinallisonft
  71. Keith O’Brien — PR News — @keithobrien
  72. Karen Tumulty — Time Magazine — @ktumulty
  73. Jon Fine — Business Week — @jonfine
  74. Johna Byrne — Business Week — @johnabyrne
  75. Charles DuBow — Business Week — @charlesdubow
  76. Douglas MacMillian — Business Week — @dmac1
  77. Garrett M. Graff — Washington Magazine — @vermontgmg
  78. Heather Green — Business Week — @Heatherlgreen
  79. Ivan Oransky — Scientific American — @ivanoransky
  80. Jason Chupick — PR Newser — @jasonchupick
  81. Jason Pontin — Technology Review — @jason_pontin

Thanks to Leslie Joy for her help compiling this list.

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: What’s Up Wednesdays: Free Book, Twitter Pitches, and Working from Home « Beyond the Rhetoric

  2. This is gold, thank you! Have you had any luck pitching by Twitter? I do pitch blog editors this way (eg. Darren Rowse with success) but have never thought to try it with print editors.

  3. Pingback: Cognitive Connection, May 28 « a.k.a writer

  4. Pingback: Maintaining a Modern Rolodex: Online Writers Need Contacts | Hyper Modern Writing

  5. C.S. Jones   •  

    Excellent list. I’ll definitely be filing it away for future use. Thanks for taking the time to compile it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *